youthhood bloggar på engelska på tema Square: "Trafalgar Square"



So what is a square? The word square has many meanings: it can be a rectangular shape where
all sides have the same length, it can be an open area or plaza in a city or town or it could mean unhip or non-cool.

For me whenever I think of squares I think of Trafalgar Square, a square with so much history.
It is located in central London and stands as a sort of memento from the battle of Trafalgar which was a British naval victory of the Napoleonic Wars. The reason this place means so much to me is because I will be moving to London in about a year and will be visiting this place many times. Since London is gonna be my new home, then so will Trafalgar Square.

Did you know that each year Norway donates a Christmas tree to London which is presented at Trafalgar Square as London’s Christmas tree? They do this as a token of gratitude for Britain's support during World War II. This square has also been used during numerous demonstrations and has worked as a gathering place for various occasions. It has also been featured in many films and television shows, because like Big Ben, Trafalgar Square represents London.

With all of this you can probably understand how important Trafalgar Square is to London and its people, it is a place that has been through many things as London developed to a leading global city, and as I within a year will join in with the millions of people who live there, I can't help but have a special place in my heart for the square that is located in the heart of London.



Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)


URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar: